How many countries are members of the Commonwealth?

The TRICKY QUESTION of the Day is:

How many countries are there in the British Commonwealth?

Page 72 of the official “Life in the UK” manual says:

The Commonwealth has a membership of 54 states.

But the webpage of the Commonwealth Secretariat,
says differently:

The Commonwealth is an association of 53 independent states consulting and co-operating in the common interests of their peoples and in the promotion of international understanding and world peace.

The right answer is 53.

Zimbabwe left the Commonwealth in 2003. The authors of “Life in the UK” perhaps looked at some outdated data. This error will be most probably corrected in the new edition.

And remember: a country might be “suspended” from the Commonwealth (like Fiji is now), but it still remains a member.

More questions on the Commonwealth, European Union, Council of Europe, United Nations etc., are available in the “Practice Questions: UK and International Organisations:

Good Luck!

Leave a Comment